It’s a hat trick! GIIS East Coast retains T20 championship for 3rd straight year

Published on 07 Feb 2018
0 0

GIIS East Coast retained the T20 cricket championship for the third straight year – scoring the proverbial hat trick – at the prestigious annual competition on Feb 2. GIIS EC defeated the formidable Sehwag International School (SIS) on the back of a strong run rate, in a rain interrupted final, keeping their nerve in a nail-biting match, to lift the prestigious GIIS T20 Cricket Cup for the third time.

SIS openers Avi and Anuragh gave a great start to SIS, with Avi playing a spectacular game of 82 runs with 9 sixes and 4 fours. The team piled up 198 runs in 20 overs for the loss of 4 wickets. But, GIIS EC managed to keep their nerve under pressure.

Captain Aman Desai led from the front for GIIS EC, scoring a swashbuckling 49 runs helping his team make 108 runs with 3 wickets lost. His efforts helped the team maintain a run rate of around 11.3 against rival SIS’s 8.4 in 10 overs. This eventually turned the tide in favour of GIIS EC, who were declared champions on the basis of a better average, after rain dampened spirits in the second half of the match. Earlier, GIIS EC won the toss and elected to field.

Avi Narain of SIS was declared Man of the Match.

Six other teams had competed in the tournament including GIIS Queenstown, Overseas Family School, Victoria School, St Andrew’s School, Singapore Cricket Club and MS Dhoni Cricket Academy.

OFS and GIIS QT were the other two semi-finalists, of which OFS emerged the 2nd runners-up, defeating GIIS QT. OFS’s Arnav played a match winning knock of 59 runs in the semis. 

The finals were flagged off by the GIIS EC Principal Melissa Maria, who encouraged the teams to do their best.  

Special awards were given to a number of players including Aryan Alhawat who was named Player of the tournament for his 216 runs in 63 balls in one match. He was also awarded most sixes, 20 in total, in the same match. GIIS EC captain Aman Desai was given the best batsman award, while Aryan Berry of OFS was named best catcher. SIS player Deepanshu was declared best bowler of the tournament.

Related News

No Comments